Workers

Certification Training Standards

WorkplaceNL has a legislated responsibility to administer training programs for various high risk hazards as outlined in the Newfoundland and Labrador Occupational Health and Safety Act, and the Newfoundland and Labrador Occupational Health and Safety Regulations.

Each of our ten certification training standards outline course requirements, learning objectives and certification processes for trainer providers and trainers. Select a topic below to view the certification training standard.

Certification Trainer ApprovalCertification Trainer's Code of EthicsConfined Space Entry (CSE) Certification Training StandardFall Protection Certification Training StandardFirst Aid Certification Training StandardMine Rescue Certification Training StandardMusculoskeletal Injury (MSI) Prevention Certification Training StandardOHS Committees, WHS Representatives, and Designates Certification Training StandardPower Line Hazards (PLH) Certification Training StandardSupervisor Health and Safety Certification Training StandardTraffic Control Person (TCP) Certification Training StandardTrainer Application Form

To view the course schedules for WorkplaceNL approved training providers, please visit our Certification Training Registry (CTR).

To sign in to the Certification Training Registry (CTR), click on the appropriate link below


Certification Training Policies and Procedures


Training Providers and Trainers

If you are an approved training provider or trainer and require training materials, please contact 709.778.1552 or email OHS.Training@workplacenl.ca.


2022 Trainer Assessment Dates

  • Tuesday, January 25, 2022 & Wednesday, January 26, 2022
  • Tuesday, February 16, 2022 & Wednesday, February 17, 2022
  • Tuesday, March 29, 2022 & Wednesday, March 30, 2022
  • Tuesday, April 26, 2022 & Wednesday, April 27, 2022
  • Wednesday, May 25, 2022
  • Thursday, June 23, 2022 & Friday, June 24, 2022
  • Wednesday, July 27, 2022
  • Tuesday, August 30, 2022 & Wednesday August 31, 2022
  • Wednesday, September 21, 2022
  • Wednesday, October 26, 2022 & Thursday, October 27, 2022
  • Wednesday, November 30, 2022


All applications must include:

  • Completed trainer registration form
  • Current resume, outlining requirements and experience as per the associated standard
  • Copies of valid certificates required as per standard
  • Completed and signed code of ethics


If you have any questions or concerns, please call 709.778.1000, or email OHS.Training@workplacenl.ca.

Thank you for your interest in becoming a certified training provider. We look forward to working with you in 2022.